top of page
  • Writer's pictureQuarantine Mixtape

Nautics // ‘Thoughts On The Ceiling’ Review

New York band, Nautics, are back with a bang! Their latest single ‘Thoughts On The Ceiling’ was released on the 21st May. Although this was my first time giving this band a listen I was pleasantly surprised; I would usually not feel captured by the light house genre but this song really is quite great!

The first thing that caught my attention was the guitar rhythm. I found it very enticing from the first few plucks it made me want to listen on, which was a good start. The lyrics, which are sometimes robotic are very catchy in the way they merge with the instrumental. You could see yourself dancing to this in your bedroom or in a coming of age film. I’d say the 90s dance feel is well captivated within this song—it is much different to other songs I have checked out in comparison with ‘Electric Fireflies’. That song also does have the rhythmic indie guitar vibes but I can’t hear as much 90s influence as I can with the latest single. 




If I was to pick a favourite part of the lyricism it would have to be the chorus. The simplicity of it, yet greatness of it, makes you just want to get up and groove. It’s the ‘oh, oh, oh, oh I’m waiting for your love’ in the robotic tuning that really makes the dance vibe come in to play. Frankly, you could do any dance move (except maybe the romantic slow dance) to this tune. 

It is just encapsulated with great vibes throughout it all, from the sprinkler dance to the hairbrush microphone. ‘Thoughts On The Ceiling’ truly is an indie banger!


 

You can find Nautics on Instagram and Facebook.

Stream Nautics on Spotify, Apple Music, & Google Play.

Buy merch on Bandcamp.


Words by Clara

For more reviews follow Clara on Instagram.


22 views0 comments
bottom of page